EAST Names 5 Founder's Award Finalists


EAST Names 5 Founder's Award Finalists
2/5/2018 12:27:59 PM

Five schools have been selected as finalists for the Timothy R. Stephenson Founder’s Award.

The national award, which represents the highest level of accomplishment for any school’s EAST program, will be presented March 14 at the annual EAST Conference in Hot Springs.


The Founder’s Award finalist schools are:


  • Armorel High School (Armorel, Ark.)
  • Cross County High School (Cherry Valley, Ark.)
  • Harrisburg Middle School (Harrisburg, Ark.)
  • Mountain Home High School (Mountain Home, Ark.)
  • Don Roberts Elementary School (Little Rock, Ark.)


“To be named a finalist in the Founder’s Award competition is, itself, a tremendous accomplishment,” said Matt Dozier, president and CEO of the EAST Initiative. “It means these schools represent communities strengthened by service and technology and felt strongly enough about their accomplishments that they self-selected their work for this extra level of consideration. It means students themselves are growing and becoming critical thinkers. It means they are using sophisticated tools to find innovative solutions to real-world problems.”


The Founder’s Award, named in honor of the former law enforcement officer-turned-teacher who first established the principles of EAST while teaching at Greenbrier High School in 1996, is composed of three distinct categories: student growth; project sophistication and innovation; and community and collaboration.


EAST schools are invited to compete in each of these categories separately for Awards of Excellence. Those that compete for all three Awards of Excellence are invited to submit further evidence of their intent to compete for the Founder’s Award. Among those that do, the schools scoring highest across all three categories are named Founder’s Award finalists. This year, 19 schools qualified and competed for the overall Founder’s Award.


Schools named as finalists for the Awards of Excellence that did not also qualify as finalists for the overall Founder’s Award are:


  • Cossatot River High School (Cove, Ark.)
  • Don Tyson School of Innovation (Springdale, Ark.)
  • Kiamichi Technology Centers - Poteau (Poteau, Okla.)
  • Maumelle High School (Maumelle, Ark.)
  • Sonora Middle School (Springdale, Ark.)


Finalists for the Founder’s Award will present to judges during the EAST Conference, March 13-15 in Hot Springs. The winners of each Award of Excellence, along with the winner of the Founder’s Award, will be announced at an awards gala that begins at 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 14, at the Hot Springs Convention Center. Tickets for the general public are $15.


Welcome, Guest